HUMOR is vital

Today’s humor break, courtesy of Miss Gretchen Conrad:

Gretchen has been complaining, off and on, for the past few days of an ear ache. She would tell Rob, and forget to tell me. Or tell me, and forget to tell the sitter. She was even talking one day about the blue tubes in her ears that she told Mrs. Fox about.

Gretchen had a string of bad ear infections basically due to her small size. Her ear can’t drain as well, so the fluid backs up and we end up with an infection — usually a high fever combined with it. Combine that with her being allergic to most antibiotics and it’s not a good time by any stretch of the imagination.

In the fall of 2010 she had tubes put in her ears (yup, they’re blue) and her adenoids removed.

She’s had them ever since!

But with the on and off complaining, and the weekend coming up, I thought I’d get her into her ENT now before we wake in the middle of Saturday morning screaming of ear pain.

I pick her up at the sitters at 3:15. The visit is in Syracuse. I tell her I want to stop at Dunkin’ Donuts because I am in need of coffee. We pull out of the sitter’s driveway.

G: “I have to go potty.”

“What? I can’t hear you Gretchie. What did you say? (Turning down WILCO at same time)”

I have to go potty.

Gretchen, we barely left the sitters? Didn’t you go there?

Yes, but I have to go again.

ugh….(I utter some things under my breath no mother should)

Fine, we’ll go inside Dunkin and use the potty.

I bring her inside, I direct her to the women’s room. We go in and she starts talking about how she doesn’t want to use the hand dryer because it’s too loud.

OK. C’mon, let’s get on the potty.

(I start to physically help her, to which she says)

Why do you want to do that. I went to potty at LEEEEEEEEEEEEe’s house.

What?

Mom, silly, I went at LEEEEEEEEEeee’s house.

(blank stare)

So, we went out of the bathroom. I got my coffee AND a donut, just because, and then got the girls some munchkins.

I think she played me!

Leave a Reply

