Bike Ride to the Moon

With the stars all glinting in the shiny Chrome
Then I suddenly remembered what I left at home
Now I shan’t be  peddling any higher
‘Cos a  sharp sputnik has given me a cosmic flat tyre
Read more: XTC – BIKE RIDE TO THE MOON LYRICS

Thank you XTC

It has been quite the eventful weekend:

  • Rob returned Friday night from Amsterdam.
  • The full moon had whipped everyone into rare form (yes, I believe the moon has a LOT to do with our moods. There, I said it.)
  • The girls and I survived Wegman’s yesterday and I can’t believe we didn’t need a time out on the Thruway again. Wow those girls were out of hand!
  • And EVERYONE was tired and all out of sorts.
  • Theo who went on a pasta strike yesterday decided to stage a bed in and refused to get to bed, on top of the melatonin AND benadryl (dosed separately) because he was hungry. He didn’t get to bed until 11-11:30 p.m.
  • And add to that the time change! Hooray, yes, spring ahead…then cry when you wake up an hour early.

But today, everything turned around. I was able to get some time alone and got some shopping done at JC Penney at Carousel Mall. (This time without the girls — hooray for me. And what a deal I got. Thanks Penny’s!)

ON the way home I called to check in, and see if Rob wanted lunch. He just sounded wiped. Poor guy was feeling the effects of being on a plane for 10 1/2 hours total.

The best part of today was getting outside in the springtime weather. It has been an odd winter here with very little snow. I do miss it. The year I finally can “wear” my snowshoes again (I’m under 150 lbs, and that’s another tbd post) of course it doesn’t snow near my house. I guess I could have gone up north, if I had found the time.

On the other hand, it’s nice to be able to get everyone ready, dressed for the weather, and out the door in less than 30 minutes. We only wore our snow pants a few times this season, and I’m not complaining.

IMAGE The triplets make a stop on their walk around the half-block!

Olena is waiting for her sibs to get moving so we can get on with our walk!

When I got home, and everyone was crawling the walls, I figured the best course of action would be to get them all dressed and ready to go play outside in the 50 degree weather. We let daddy have some time to himself, and we explored the neighborhood by taking a walk around half the block (and Theo, who usually ends up quitting by the end of James Street, kept on going until we got to McPhearson!). Then we journeyed to the side and back yards to kick the soccer ball, play tag, and more.

And when all was said and done, and the kiddos had been fed, I was able to go out for the first time since January and log in a 2 mile run.

So as crazy as it got, and as exhausting as it is raising these triplets, just thinking about today and the fun we had puts a smile on my face.

PS. Syracuse has only logged 50 inches of snow this season… Rochester about 56. Looks like Syracuse will not get the Golden Snowball Award. But that doesn’t mean we won’t get snow in, oh, MAY.

Leave a Reply

