In the Numbers

Last year was one endless trip to the doctor for one thing or another…if it wasn’t for the triplets, it was for me. I seemed to have caught every plague and germ that the kiddos came in contact with.

But what was shocking was not the germs, nor the virus that felt like bronchitis but wasn’t, OR the we-don’t-know-and-can’t-diagnose-what-you-have-so-stayhome! bacteria I had embraced. It was the weight.

Yup, I said it. The weight.

This time last year I topped the scales at 172 lbs. and didn’t think anything of it.

It wasn’t until I happened to be home a month later with Theo feeding my face with food to cope with the ear infection and general miserableness (what?!) that he had that I had realized something:

YOU CANNOT TAKE CARE OF SOMEONE ELSE UNLESS YOU TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF!!

  • I cannot change Theo’s ear infection and related grumpiness.
  • I cannot change Olena’s asthma and related bronchial goings-on.
  • I cannot change the fact that Gretchen is going to be small.
  • I cannot change Theo’s autism diagnosis.

And that’s when it hit me…not only was I not coping with these diagnoses and what I COULD be doing. I was drowning my worries in cookies, extra fries, and trips to Tim Horton’s, and rewarding myself with convenient comforting fast foods every time I went to the doctors.

It’s no wonder I gained the weight.

So, that day, while Theo caught a nap, I joined Weight Watchers online. I signed up for my first 5K since promising myself while on bed rest that I’d run again. I had to take care of myself not just for me, but for my kids, my husband…

MY FAMILY!

And since I’ve been on the program I have surpassed one goal weight already and I currently weigh in at (drum roll please?!) 145.6 lbs! I have 5.6 more lbs to shed.

I have also participated in four 5K races and have a whole slate of races scheduled for this year including my first 10K since having the triplets.

I am much happier, and healthier and — I think — more germ free too!

So, to any of you out there who may be struggling with weight, you can do it. You just need to take that first step. I still struggle with food choices now and then, especially if we have a rough day, but I am so much smarter about it.

Onward and upward!

4 thoughts on “In the Numbers

  1. Pingback: Run Like the Wind « mylifeintriplicate

Leave a Reply

