#IWishIDidntHaveAspergers #AutismPositivity2012

This is a special message to the person who googled “I Wish I Didn’t Have Aspergers.”

And now it’s my turn:

  • I wish my son, Theodore, was not autistic.
  • I wish my daughter, Olena, did not have asthma.
  • I wish my daughter, Gretchen, was not super small.
  • I wish they did not have to spend three months in the NICU.
  • I wish I didn’t deliver those babies at 28 weeks.

But that’s what we faced… and I refuse to see us as labels. We are a healthy, happy family of five. And my kids are KIDS first. Whatever diagnosis they have, it doesn’t define them.

I LOVE THEM NO MATTER WHAT!

I’m not sure what you are going through, or how old you are, or what kind of challenges you are facing. I’m hoping that you googled that term to find out more about aspergers. And I hope you found support, and encouraging information. And from this I hope you can build a network of support in person, in school, in church, or online.

Just know that you are NOT alone.

I’m sorry that you have aspergers. But I am so THANKFUL that you do, and that you are on this earth, and that you are curious and seeking answers. I want you to share your story, to encourage others to speak up — especially those who may be going through some tough times.

Of course, as the saying goes, if you have met one person with autism, you have met one person with autism.

But, it is because of people like you I am learning MORE about what my son is going through. He is non-verbal but his expressions, and actions, speak louder than words ever could. I have learned from various bloggers, twitter folks, and supporters what it is like to:

  • navigate a room during a party
  • have your hair cut and feel the sensation of the hair hitting your skin
  • be distracted by noises, yet seek those that are soothing
  • listen even though you don’t make eye contact
  • live in a “typical” world
  • be different, yet present so many gifts
THEO sharing a giggle with mom

After a hard day's work Theo loves to spend time on the couch with me...such joy!

Most importantly, because of people like you we know what therapies work. That getting out and trying something new, while scary, can be the best plan of action. That sometimes the only thing that works is to have a sibling, your mom or dad, sitter, friend, just sit quietly next to you, and view the world through your eyes.My hope is that instead of focusing on the negative, on the “what if’s” and the “what could have been’s”, that you acknowledge that you have this and you instead focus on what you CAN do, not on what you CANNOT do.

And keep on informing me of what you are feeling. Because Theodore and the many non-verbal kids out there need you to spread the word most of all.

Leave a Reply

