Most Amazing Girls

They Do SurpriseYou, Right Before Your Eyes

I will keep this short since, well, it was one of THOSE nights last night when instead of birds chirping to wake you up (that does happen, sometimes, right?!) Theodore was in full melt-down mode, screaming on top of his lungs, in pain… in frustration…

It was those damn teeth!

Theodore had a hard time with teething in general. Now, we believe, that Theodore is in the beginning stages of getting his molars. Growing pains indeed.

When we saw his dentist she did say that kids on the autism spectrum can feel the movement of molars way before typical kids. He was pretty cranky last night but, hoping to avoid being bit, I simply asked Olena to open up. I inspected her gums, which were slightly swollen. I asked her, “does it hurt?”

“Yeah,” she said. Then she walked away.

If Theo could only be that lucky.

Standing By

Approximately 80 to 90 percent of the time I can soothe Theo pretty well. There have been times when all I had to do is just lay next to him, offer him a hand to grab on to, and have him drift off to sleep.

Last night (this morning), not so much. He was just in pain, stiffening his legs out, crying and drooling…rocking hard against his tent bed.

So I started the Tylenol/Motrin schedule. I rubbed some pain reliever on his gums using his toothbrush (better than getting a finger bit) and just continued to talk to him gently while rubbing his leg. I finally convinced him to try some food (he hadn’t had a full dinner) and he did eat. He eventually calmed down enough, but just long enough to start crying for another helping of milk and boost.

He then seemed hungry and had some oatmeal. A victory. We had been off that for a few months. So hopefully this means he’ll return to his normal breakfasts.

Distraction Helps

Theo had a  better day at school. He did have one episode but he recovered quickly with the help of his therapists and some swinging. Being outside helped as well.

Of course the witching hour always happens when we get home. He’s hungry. He’s tired. And, oh yeah, he’s hungry.

So after dinner, the pain returned and he retreated (after turning every toy on in the house) to his bed to rock and cry it out.

I felt so hopeless. But I did what I could do. Reassure him that everything was going to be OK.

But here’s the best part.

Both girls — Gretchen AND Olena — walked into Theo’s room, and they each brought him a favorite toy in an effort to soothe him. Gretchen crawled into Theo’s tent and handed him a phone, while Olena ran in, said “It’s OK Theoooooo,” and practically beamed him with a toy.

Ah, that’s my girls! Doing their best to help their brother. And while I sat by his side while he cried and complained, loudly, I could not help but think how lucky he is to have such thoughtful sisters.

Now, let’s all hope, for a peaceful night. Fingers crossed.

5 thoughts on “Most Amazing Girls

  1. I relate so much to the teething pain with my youngest. I would watch him fall off a couch, jump from my 6 foot book shelf, and crash into a wall exhibiting classic signs of SPD. Nothing would affect him no pain, or no reaction to the pain. Then at 12 months he started teething. Very late by most standards, but not uncommon. The teething would wake him from a sound sleep and the pain that would follow would leave him drooling, angry, and so vulnerable. I would spend hours holding and rocking him back in forth until I would lul one of us to sleep. Long days and nights turned into weeks of what I called “peekaboo” teeth now you see them now you don’t. Hugs to you and your Theo those nasty molars can be a nightmare.

Leave a Reply

