It’s a Wonderful Run

It’s December and we’ve made it past 12/12/12 with no incidents. We even made it through another race in Seneca Falls.

On Saturday I joined my sisters and their families in running the It’s a Wonderful Run 5K in Seneca Falls, NY.

For the weekend the town is decked out in honor of the classic Frank Capra movie. Townsfolk say that Bedford Falls is based on this tiny town not too far away from the Finger Lakes in New York.

IMAGE It's a Wonderful Run 20012

A sweaty me, nephew Alex, niece Justyna (placing 2nd in her age group), my sisters MaryAnn and Lesia.

It was my second time running this race. And, for New York, it was quite balmy…not as windy cold as it was last year.And, as crazy as running a 5 K is, it’s my escape, my time alone. This is when I put myself to the test (like I don’t have enough challenges during the day). This is how I release stress. This is how I change those things I can’t change — if that makes any sense.

And God knows my hands are full with PLENTY of things I can’t change.

But I can lace up my sneakers, turn up the Ipod, and let go of everything. And when it gets tough out on the road, when I feel challenged, I simply think of all the things the triplets have gone through to get to where they are…and specifically of all the challenges that Theo faces daily, and I KNOW I can finish strong.

Plus, I had to finish strong. I rode with MaryAnn and was only guaranteed a ride back home if I bested my previous time.

I finished with a chip time of 26:42, a gun time of 27:02, and a pace of 8:43 per mile.

A year ago I finished in 28:50!

All that hard work that I invested into running again is paying off. And I’m having fun. I had a blast and, as always, it’s great to be able to do this with my sisters, my brothers-in-law, and my niece and nephew.

I can’t wait for the day when the triplets can join me on the road.

Until next time…

 

Leave a Reply

