World Autism Awareness Day

In this house, and in many others over the globe, we are fully aware of autism’s impact. We’ve gone from 1 in 88 to 1 in 50 according to new IMAGE Theo and I...A big birthday hug!research…and my guess is that number is going to rise. So we don’t need a month to remind us… but there are so many other people out there who still do not understand and think our kids are misbehaving, or spoiled. Or they believe the so-called refrigerator mom theory and all that other garbage.

April can be overwhelming for us for so many reasons. The stories in the media will either be overly negative, or extremely positive…and while seeing another child’s success gives us hope sometimes I can’t help but feel a tad jealous. It’s crazy. I know it. You should never compare children… but I often think “well, when is THIS going to happen for Theodore?”

But hope is something that we have. And support it something we also have. And we LOVE Theodore unconditionally, without reservations, even when he’s up singing in his bedroom from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m.

I can’t cure autism. I can’t take it away from him (wouldn’t that be a great trick). But I can make a difference for Theodore by letting him be the best HE can be! I can also make a difference by fund-raising for organizations who help people like Theodore, such as the ARC, Oneida-Lewis Chapter, Friends of the ARC Foundation.

This summer I’m taking on my biggest challenge yet — I will be participating in the Utica Boilermaker 15K Road Race in July. The organization is hosting a charity bib program which I am proud to be a part of. I will be raising $500 for the ARC.

While they are not our “home” ARC (we live in Canastota, in Madison County), we know the impact the ARC has on the lives of the people they serve, and the families that love them. They are constantly looking at ways to help kids and adults with autism be the BEST they can be! And this comes at a critical time as the state of New York decreased funding to the developmentally disabled by 4.5 percent this year.

So as I lace up my sneakers this year, I have a brand new purpose (which I guess was always a bit of motivation)…to be an advocate for my children, to show them that you CAN make a difference by doing something you love.

I have set up an online account through Fundrazr if you would like to help me along on my journey. Together we can make a difference and I thank you for your support.

All my best,

Alexia

3 thoughts on “World Autism Awareness Day

  1. Pingback: NUMBERS numbers… | mylifeintriplicate

Leave a Reply

