And, I’m Done

That’s all I could muster tonight. All because of Gretchen…

She engaged me in a shouting match. I told her she needed to calm down. She did not.

Twenty-minutes into it, and it escalated because we told her she could not go to soccer.

I never heard louder screaming for anyone. Ever.

“Soccer players do not act like this.” I calmly told her.

Repeatedly.

No matter what voice I used…the “quiet so she can calm down and hear you” voice to the “oh man Mom is Bat-Sh*t wakcky” voice…nothing worked.

I threw in the towel.

I did not engage.

I’m done.

I quit.

But, of course, before my little angel simmered down she riled up poor Theo who 1) hates yelling and 2) was distressed by his molars and 3) oh yeah, proceeded to melt down at the same time.

If this is a phase, I certainly hope it resolves itself quickly.

Before my little girl threw a screaming match for an hour I had the opportunity to ask two other parents if their kids have ever acted this way. The littlest thing we seem to say to her makes her cry. Or worse…carry on the non-stop whining.

One parent said it happened to his daughter the year before (age 5) while the other said her son is going through the same thing now (age 7).

Come to think of it, this time last year it was Olena who had me resigning…minus all the whining (oh Olena can throw quite the fit too).

So, my question is, has your little one ever made you throw up your arms, pull out the white flag, and say, “I quit?” And if so, what did your little one do?

Tonight’s last straw: “MOM, I CAN’T HEAR ANYTHING AND MY THROAT HURTS. I THINK I NEED A DOCTOR!!!”

“No, you do not need a doctor. You can’t hear and your throat hurts because you’ve been screaming for almost an hour.”

*sigh*

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

