#Autumn Advantage

So after last nights all-out-shouting-and-no-soccer war, I very tenderly and gently suggested to take the girls out to the track tonight to burn off some energy. I figure that part of the reason why Gretchen is having these meltdowns is — and I’m assuming here — that Theo is taking up a lot of time and attention since his molars are acting up again.

Now Gretchen is absolutely great with Theodore. I think she’s attached and so in tune with Theodore that a LOT of people (me included) sometime go to her when Theo can’t be soothed. She’ll sit with him. Compliment him. Try to play with him… and give him a chance. And he does love her.

But she also needs some mommy and me time. Even daddy and me time. She just needs some time.

Understandable.

IMAGE Sky at Canastota High

Sunset from Canastota High Track

On this gorgeous autumn night I loaded up the mini-van with my mini-track stars, drove over to the high school. As the sun started its nightly bedtime ritual, the sky alit in gorgeous orange, pink and purple colors. Wispy clouds covered the moon painting it light blue.

And two of the most beautiful stars in the planet were not up in the sky…but they were right by my side.

IMAGE Olena, me and Gretchen

Me and my stars.

Just when the sun finally set, and the temperatures dipped, it was time to head home. It was a half-hour on the track and it was fun! (Of course but we have a few hours to see whether or not we got all our energy out…please, may Gretchen sleep in heavenly peace all night long!).

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

